The Dominions

To round off the beginning of the 'E' class submarines tenure with the Australian Squadron, it might be best to précis the structure of the Royal Australian Navy and the prevailing political attitude to our brand new silent service as war was breaking out on the 5th August 1914.

The Royal Australian Navy was anchored by three experts, making up the Naval Board, sited at Naval Headquarters, Melbourne.

Concern Expressed by Papuan Times - 1914

First Naval Member - Rear-Admiral Sir William Cresswell, KCMG, RAN, had a fine career record.

Second Naval Member - Captain Arthur Gordon Smith, RN.

Third Naval Member - Engineer- Captain W. Clarkson, CMG, RAN, (to be completed)
These three gentlemen were responsible to the then Minister for Defense, Senator E. D. Millen.

Senator E. D. Millen's position was taken by Senator, the Honourable George F. Pearce, who was re-elected to the cabinet in the second Fisher Labour Government, formed after the double dissolution of August 1914.

Rear-Admiral, Sir George Edwin Patey, KCMG, KCVO, RN - Flag Officer of the Australian Squadron in HMAS Australia, was Commander-in-Chief, Royal Australian Fleet, 1913 - 15. (he delayed the expedition to Port Moresby ('Berrima') while he escorted the New Zealand force to Samoa)

Major-General W. Holmes, CMG, DSO, VD - Commander of the Australian Naval and Military Expeditionary Force.

Captain John Collings Taswell GLOSSOP, CB, RN, - HMAS Sydney. Later promoted to Vice-Admiral.